Manteno CUSD #5

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Board of Education Thursday, February 12, 2009 Manteno High School Library

Call to Order The meeting was called to order by President Stauffenberg at 6:30 p.m.

Roll Call The following members answered to roll call:

G. Dodge P. Mallaney S. Martin G. Preston J. Toepper M. Stauffenberg

Absent: M. Nelson – one (1).

Also present: Supt. Russert, R. Schnitzler, A. Furbee and D. Fortin – four (4).

Pledge of Allegiance President Stauffenberg led those in attendance in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Executive Session

Moved by Martin, seconded by Dodge to adjourn to executive session for the purpose of appointment, employment, compensation, discipline performance, or dismissal of specific employees or legal counsel; and student disciplinary cases. Ayes: Martin, Dodge, Mallaney, Preston, Toepper and Stauffenberg – six (6). Open session ended at 6:32 p.m.

Return to

Moved by Toepper, seconded by Preston to return to open session at 7:19 p.m. Open Session Roll call: Toepper, Preston, Dodge, Mallaney, Martin and Stauffenberg – six (6). Absent: Nelson – one (1). Motion carried.

Expel Student "C" Moved by Martin, seconded by Preston to expel Student "C" for the remainder of the 2008-2009 school year and all of the 2009-2010 school year. Ayes: Martin, Preston, Dodge, Mallaney, Toepper, and Stauffenberg – six (6). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Expel Student "D" Moved by Toepper, seconded by Dodge to expel Student "D" for the remainder of 2008-2009 school year and all of the 2009-2010 school year. Ayes: Toepper, Dodge, Mallaney, Martin, Preston, and Stauffenberg – six (6). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Resignation

Moved by Preston, seconded by Martin to accept the resignation of Maureen Labotz. Ayes: Preston, Martin, Dodge, Mallaney, Toepper, and Stauffenberg – six (6). Nays - none (0). Motion carried.

Approval of Architect

President Stauffenberg noted that the approval of the architect (which was listed on the agenda) would be tabled.

Adjournment Moved by Dodge, seconded by Preston to adjourn the meeting. Voice vote – all six (6). Nays – none (0). Motion carried. The meeting ended at 7:25 p.m.

> Mark Stauffenberg Patrick Mallaney, Board **Board President Board Secretary** MKS/PM/df